Friends of the Fox River 2004 Annual Report

Year's Highlights--

- The Fox Environmental Hero Award was presented to Valerie DePrez of the Kane County Forest Preserve District.
- The Reese's Clean-Up Cup Award went to Pam Otto of the Fox Valley Park District.
- Troy Bruley of Cary-Grove High School was named Teacher of the Year.
- Jenni Kempf of Algonquin was named Student of the Year.
- ** Kane County Forest Preserve District granted \$50,000 and Nicor gave \$1000 for our Fox River Watershed Monitoring Network.
- "Your Fox River Watershed" Photo Contest was held.
- Membership grew 35% from 188 to 253.
- Fox River Watershed Monitoring Network increased the number of trained adult monitors from 300 to 350, added 17 new monitoring sites, and has increased the number of students, teachers, and adults monitoring at stream sites from 2,000 to 2,500!

Member Events-

- Shedd Aquarium Tour, January 17
- Ice Fishing on Lake Marie, February 17
- Birdwatching at Fox River Shores Forest Preserve, March 13
- Monitoring Network Trainings- April 23, 24; May 4, 12,13, 20; June 15
- Fox River Canoe Trip, April 10
- Fox River Watershed Conference for Teachers and Students, May 6
- Monitor with Your Mother, May 8
- Fox Rescue river cleanup, May 15
 - Fox River-Carpentersville at Carpentersville Dam and Fox River Shores Preserve
 - Fox River-Yorkville
 - Fox River-St. Charles at Tekawitha Woods Preserve and Fox River Bluff Preserve
 - Fox River-Batavia
 - Boone Creek
 - Fox River-East Dundee (on May 22)
- St. Charles Pride of the Fox River Fest, June 11-13
- Starved Rock State Park Bird Walk, June 12
- Mallard Bend Camping Trip, July 16-18
- It's Our River Day cleanups, October 16
 - Fox River-Batavia
 - Fox River-Yorkville
- Annual Meeting and State of the Fox River 2004 Report Release, December 6

Board of Directors/Staff -

Rita Hickman, Newsletter Editor Woodstock **David Horn, President** Aurora Kyla Jacobsen, Secretary Elgin Pat Kirmse, Activities Chair Algonquin Rob Linke, Fox River Study Group representative St. Charles **Chuck Roberts, Vice-President** Yorkville Cindy Skrukrud, Water Quality Committee Chair & Earth Share representative Richmond **Gary Swick, Fox River Watershed Monitoring Network Director** Elgin

Staff

Sue Bennett, Fox River Monitoring Network Coordinator
Karin Ley, Administrative Assistant
Sleepy Hollow
Johnsburg

Volunteer Staff

Jennifer Howard, Media Relations Coordinator Aurora

At our December 6 Annual Meeting, Jennifer Howard, Pam Otto and Tom Schrader were elected to the Board of Directors. Cindy Skrukrud ended her service on the board.